Book Quote:

“Illanthe performed a random sweep over sections of the assembly arena, noting the various forms and shapes manifested across the shell wall. Over half retained a human appearance, whereas the rest had selected a multitude of geometries and colors from minimal spheres of light, to swarms of neuron echoes, to the simple yet sinister black pyramids of the radical Isolator Faction. … Of Gore Burnelli there was no sign, which perturbed her more than it should have. She still didn’t understand how he’d become the Third Dreamer; his mentality must have some private link out of ANA to the gaiafield that she didn’t comprehend. Not that it was going to matter now.”

Book Review:

Review by Ann Wilkes  (DEC 4, 2010)

In the final volume of Peter F. Hamilton’s Void trilogy, we once again find Edeard trying to make things right in Makkathran, his city on Querencia, a planet in the Void.

Outside of the Void, continuation of the entire galaxy hangs in the balance as an ark of humans travels to the Void in hopes of joining Edeard in what they believe will be an idyllic existence. The followers of Living Dream learned of Edeard and Makathran from the first Dreamer, Inigo, in The Dreaming Void, as Inigo shared his dreams of Edeard simultaneously across many worlds throughout the galaxy by means of his gaiamotes.

In The Evolutionary Void, we find out why Inigo refused to share the last dream and dropped out of sight, letting everyone think him dead. The Void is guarded by Raiel war ships and an impenetrable barrier. A Skylord, a gigantic flying being from the Void, invited the Second Dreamer Araminta to enter the Void in the last book, The Temporal Void. Her refusal set off an expansion of the Void, a warning of the greater expansion that will result if the barrier is breached.

Meanwhile, Ilanthe wants to use the Void to reset the galaxy to her specifications. She possesses technology that could seal off anyone who could stop her and hatches a plan to get to the Heart of the Void before Living Dream.

Every character is rich with imperfections, foibles and rare courage. Araminta’s resourcefulness, ingenuity and Silfen abilities keep her alive and out of the hands of Living Dream until she finds a way to turn the tables on them.

Aaron’s mind was so violated with devastating memories of torture that he has been imprinted with a second personality in order to carry out a mission which is only revealed to him by stages. His biononics and enrichments make him a deadly weapon. He doesn’t know who he once was or who is controlling him. He sets out kidnapping those he has been directed to collect. There is no reasoning with him or diverting him from his course.

Oscar Monroe, not long out of prison from the Starflyer War, and aided by the Knights Guardian, is looking for the Second Dreamer to keep her safe and free to make her own choice. But Araminta doesn’t know if she can trust him.

There is so much going on in this book it can’t possibly be contained in a review. And it can’t really be read without reading the first two books in the series. Hamilton doesn’t begin to catch readers up, instead plunging them right back into his story, which spans a galaxy with a cast of a hundred or so name-worthy characters. The Evolutionary Void is full of man — or woman — hunts, races against time, flights from enemies, fights with enemies, alliances formed or broken, mysteries, mind powers, aliens and cool tech.

Hamilton’s imagination and the scope of his Commonwealth Universe is the best I’ve read so far, and that includes Asimov’s Foundation series and Brin’s Uplift War. I’m just sorry the story is over. I hope he writes more stories in this incredible universe. I feel like I just lost a best friend now that it’s over. The Void trilogy could not possibly be told in fewer pages (each volume is more than 640 pages). They are well worth the investment.

AMAZON READER RATING: stars-4-5from 41 readers
PUBLISHER: Del Rey (August 24, 2010)
REVIEWER: Ann Wilkes
AUTHOR WEBSITE: Peter F. Hamilton
EXTRAS: Excerpt
MORE ON MOSTLYFICTION: Read our review of:

The Temporal Void


Greg Mandel books:

Night’s Dawn Trilogy

The Commonwealth Trilogy

The Void Trilogy (also in the Commonwealth)

Other Novels:

December 4, 2010 · Judi Clark · No Comments
Tags:  · Posted in: 2010 Favorites, Scifi

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.